Newcomers of York County

The Carol Fields Award
2019 Carol Fields Award Recipient.... Irene Uhl
In 1978 the membership of the Newcomers Club decided to create an award to honor an individual who had contributed service “above and beyond the call of duty”. The first recipient of this award and the inspiration for it was Carol Fields. Thus, the award became known as “The Carol Fields Award”. This honor is not intended to be given every year, but rather, when an individual is deemed to have earned it through several years of extraordinary service to the club.

Past Recipients of The Carol Fields Award 
2005  Jeanne Engle
2006  Cynthia Bottomly
2008  Barbara Rappaport
2009  Brenda Bedi
2011  Sharon Kornberg
2012  Kathy Christy
2013  Nancy Grimm
2014  Jan Webster
2015  Barbara Meighan
2016  Karen Peterson
2017 Gail Soares
After detailing all the contributions that this year’s winner has performed that have been above and beyond the call of duty, Kris announced that Irene Uhl has been chosen to receive the Carol Fields award. 
Since its inception, the Carol Fields Award has been presented to:
1978 Carol Fields
1979 Mr. Joe Dukes 
1980 Pat Burrows  
1981 Lib Allen  
1982 Carrington McDermott  
1984 Madeline Englehard  
1986 Sarah Morgan  
1989 Sandi Wardean  
1991 Mary Jane Shepard  
1996 Joan Musselwhite  
1997 Suzanne Kirk
1998 Mignon Eayre
1999 Elly Weiss
2001 Margaret Jefferies
2002 Carol Hostetler
2004 Marianne O'Neill 
HomeMembershipActivitiesNewcomers Board 2019-20Community ProjectsSponsors
For Current MembersEvents 2019-2020Carol Fields AwardArchivesYork County LinksBylaws