Newcomers of York County
HomeMembershipActivitiesCommunity ProjectsSponsorsYork County Links
For Current MembersThe Newcomers BoardEventsCarol Fields Award

2013 Carol Fields Award Recipient.... Nancy Grimm

The Carol Fields Award
The Carol Fields Award was presented to Nancy Grimm at our May 2013 General Meeting. Nancy has been a member of Newcomers since 2004. Not only has she supported the club by serving on the board in various capacities (President 2007-2008, Historian and Ex-Officio), she is a generous contributor to our annual Make It, Bake It, or Donate It silent auctions, is instrumental in making beautiful baskets resulting in many donations to charity, and has served on numerous nominating committees. With her warm and welcoming smile, Nancy meets everyone and every opportunity with a positive attitude, making Newcomers a strong and high functioning club.

In 1978 the membership of the Newcomers Club decided to create an award to honor an individual who had contributed service “above and beyond the call of duty”. The first recipient of this award and the inspiration for it was Carol Fields. Thus, the award became known as “The Carol Fields Award”. This honor is not intended to be given every year, but rather, when an individual is deemed to have earned it through several years of extraordinary service to the club.

The Carol Fields Award 
Past Recipients of The Carol Fields Award 
Since its inception the Carol Fields Award has been presented to:

1978Carol Fields                                                   
1979Mr. Joe Dukes                                               
1980Pat Burrows                                                   
1981Lib Allen                                                        
1982Carrington McDermott                                     
1984Madeline Englehard                                        
1986Sarah Morgan                                                 
1989Sandi Wardean                                                
1991Mary Jane Shepard                                          
1996Joan Musselwhite                                            
1997Suzanne Kirk                                                   

1998  Mignon Eayre
1999  Elly Weiss
2001  Margaret Jeffries
2002  Carol Hostetler
2004  Marianne O'Neill
2005  Jeanne Engle
2006  Cynthia Bottomly
2008  Barbara Rappaport
2009  Brenda Bedi
2010  Sharon Kornberg
2011  Kathy Christy